polaroid spank

facebook twitter soundcloud Spotify

Latest Release

Naeem Hanks AKA Spank Rock comes from the wall sweating, pipe bursting, hip grinding basements of the Baltimore Bass movement. After spending some time at Drexel University in Philly he linked up with the Diplo powered Hollertronix crew and began crafting the type of live performances that have become underground legend.

Diplo introduced him to the cutting edge UK based label Ninja Tune and in 2006 he released the seminal electro/rap/booty album YoYoYoYoYo with production partner Alex XXXchange Epton. The lyrics and production fit like an S&M glove and the duo crafted a groundbreaking debut album that many credit as ground zero of the electro/rap movement. Along with Ronnie Darko, Chris Devlin and the sassy trash talking MC Amanda Blank, the Spank Rock crew quickly set the blogs afire and become known for putting on some of the raunchiest, booty shaking live shows in the world.

Thom Yorke of Radiohead named YoYoYoYoYo as one of his Top 10 albums for 2006, Spank Rock has toured with everyone from Beck to Bjork to the Beastie Boys, he’s made records with Kylie Minogue, MosDef and Santigold and remains one of the most enigmatic, electrifying performers in music today.

In summer of 2010 Spank Rock was featured along with The View’s Kyle Falconer on “The Bike Song” by Mark Ronson, which was a single on Ronson’s 2010 album release Record Collection and he toured with Ronson’s Business International US & UK tour.

In 2011 “Everything Is Boring & Everyone Is A F—ing Liar” the long-awaited sophomore LP defies expectation. Executively produced by Boys Noize and including guest-appearances by Santigold, Mark Ronson, Big Freedia and XXXchange. Spank Rock has taken a brand new, intrepid direction since 2005’s Yoyoyoyoyo. The latest in a series of collaborative projects (Bangers & Cash with Benny Blanco or Mobroder with Blu Jemz, for example), “Everything Is Boring And Everyone Is A F—ing Liar” finds Naeem reinvigorated and inspired; the change is palpable.

As it’s title might suggest, “Everything Is Boring And Everyone Is A F—ing Liar” is a deliberate departure from the sound of Yoyoyoyoyo; the forthcoming album is a polished, melodic effort informed as much by pop and rock as club rap and electro. This striking amalgam is exemplified wholly by “Energy”, the lead single produced by Boys Noize. The frenetic drum line maintains a stuttered clip that finds Spank Rock sounding somewhere between David Byrne and Ike Turner. No less striking is the Santigold-assisted “Car Song”- more thoughtful dance rock colliding with electronic influences. Later, production from Sam Spiegel and XXXchange help to achieve a balance of sonic elements, tethering together pop and electronic traits respectively and allowing them to gel beneath Spank Rock’s cadence.

Hedonism still makes itself present lyrically, as on “Hot Potato”, or the wall-shaking Bounce anthem “Nasty” with Big Freedia, but the album’s energetic sexuality is in good company alongside verses about industry frustration, love, and listless dancing, ultimately humanizing a musician as he metamorphoses into an artist. “Everything Is Boring And Everyone Is A F—ing Liar” is far-reaching topically yet fully committed to portraying Spank Rock’s multi-faceted brilliance.

One Comment

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>