Boys Noize – Mayday


Tracklisting Vinyl:
A1. Overthrow
A2. Mayday
A3. Revolt
B1. Euphoria (feat. Remy Banks)
B2. Rock The Bells
B3. 2 Live
C1. Would You Listen
C2. Starchild (feat. POLIÇA)
C3. Midnight
D1. Los Niños
D2. Hardkotzen
D3. Birthday (feat. Hudson Mohawke & Spank Rock)

Tracklisting Digital/CD:
01. Overthrow
02. Mayday
03. Dynamite (feat. Benga)
04. Rock The Bells
05. Euphoria (feat. Remy Banks)
06. 2 Live
07. Would You Listen
08. Revolt
09. Starchild (feat. POLIÇA)
10. Midnight
11. Los Niños
12. Hardkotzen
13. Birthday (feat. Hudson Mohawke & Spank Rock)

Format: Vinyl / CD / Digital

Release Date:
CD / Digital: May 20th, 2016
Vinyl: June 10th, 2016

Cat#: BNR155 / BNR155D / BNR025CD

Get it here:
BNR Shop (Vinyl)
BNR Shop (CD)
BNR Shop (Digital)
Rough Trade (CD/Vinyl)
Apple Music
Google Play

He’s the techno punk, the unboxable nomad: Berlin DJ and producer BOYS NOIZE will release his 4th solo album MAYDAY on May 20, 2016 via Boysnoize Records. The third track off the new album, “Starchild”, features Channy Leaneagh of Poliça, and has been chosen as the world record by Zane Lowe on his BEATS 1 show. Earlier, “Overthrow” and “Euphoria” ft Remy Banks were revealed from the upcoming release MAYDAY.

Alex Ridha, better known as BOYS NOIZE, made his DJ debut at the age of 15, taking a teenager´s love of house and techno to a global scale. Accolades have been bestowed by Rolling Stone, who named him one of the “Top 10 DJ’s Who Rule The World” and Beatport, who elected him “Best Electronic Act” 3 years in a row. He´s rocked the world’s biggest stages, lit up Coachella three times, took Lollapalooza by storm, and headlined festivals and clubs on every continent – from Berlin techno temple Berghain to Fuji Rock in Japan to Justin Vernon’s Eaux Claires Festival in the woods of Wisconsin.

As an artist and producer, Ridha has created a sound and a vision that’s peerless, uncompromising, and enduring – respected in the scene, banging from underground to mainstream, it flies in the face of convention at every turn. He’s remixed Depeche Mode, Daft Punk, David Lynch, Feist and Nine Inch Nails, collaborated with Snoop Dogg, Erol Alkan, and Jarvis Cocker, worked on Mark Ronson’s “Uptown Special” and most recently on the soundtrack for upcoming Oliver Stone’s Snowden, and released group projects with genius pianist Chilly Gonzales (Octave Minds), Skrillex (Dog Blood), and Mr. Oizo (Handbraekes). The list of names alone speak volumes about Ridha’s multifaceted approach.

Now BOYS NOIZE is back with MAYDAY, his most dynamic album to date. Infectiously energetic, uncompromisingly aggressive, capturing the energy and spirit of punk, fused with the relentless power of raw techno and an electrifying dose of classic rave and industrial, MAYDAY transports the innocence of a bygone era into the here-and-now without sounding anachronistic or nostalgic. Collaborations with POLICA, HUDSON MOHAWKE, BENGA, REMY BANKS, SPANK ROCK, and some special secret guests broaden the range still further (check the liner notes), while maintaining the classic rugged-n-raw BOYS NOIZE style. 

MAYDAY finds BOYS NOIZE in the eye of the storm, broadcasting live from the maelstrom. BOYS NOIZE has always existed in that space between diehard apostle and festival favorite, purist and popular, DJ for the DJs and crowd kids alike, at once techno, industrial and hip-hop, anarchist, outsider, raver, cyberpunk, counter culture advocate, prankster. MAYDAY captures these disparate elements in their most volatile form.  

The album title MAYDAY refers to the international distress signal. “MAYDAY is my warning signal against blind categorization and conformist synchronization,” says Ridha. “A call for individuality and diversity – and a tribute to outsiders.” 

MAYDAY speaks for a generation that no longer gives a damn about boundaries. Walls are for breaking down. MAYDAY’s for tearing them to shreds.

Artist Sites:

One Comment

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

  • Jonathan Cruz said:

    At first, I was like,” wtf is this? This isn’t BN’s signature sound.” But then I listened to the entire album and then I was like,” oh shit, this shit is killer!”