Spank Rock – The Upside

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH


Release Date: 09.12.2014

Format: Digital/EP


  1. 12 O’Clock Boys
  2. Assassin (feat. Amanda Blank)
  3. Gully
  4. Back Up
  5. Burning Man
  6. One Hunnid
  7. Gully (With You Remix) [Bonus Track]

Spank Rock (Naeem Juwan), the “electro and dirty rap auteur” (NYTimes) and “harbinger of post-millenial rap” (FADER), has been building buzz this past year for his next release, an intense dose of club- and festival-ready rap. His six-track EP The Upside follows 2011’s Everything is Boring and Everyone is a Fucking Lia Fucking Liar, 2008’s Bangers & Cash EP, 2006’s seminal Yoyoyoyoyo, and slew of recent popular singles and featured verses. Fast, ghetto, provocative, and complex, The Upside is one of the most unique and creative dance records of 2014. Juwan has a reputation as a connoisseur of the most cutting-edge trends in hip hop and dance (working with Big Freedia and Le1f on his 2011 LP, Benny Blanco in 2008, and Diplo in 2005). With The Upside, he stays true to form, working with some of the most creative new talents from his close family of collaborators: New Orleans trap upstart Kid Kamillion, Philly hip-hop producer Noah Breakfast, German techno producer Boys Noize, and Don Leomax. Stand-out tracks include Brodinski and A-Trak favorite “Gully,” as well as “Assassin,” Spank Rock’s first official single with Amanda Blank since 2008. Bonus track “Gully (With You)” is an addictive house remix by Switch (of Major Lazer) and protégé Rick Trainor for their latest electronic music project With You.


Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>