BNR103: Strip Steve – Micro Mega Remixed
April 29th (Digital)


01 – Micro (Light Year & Jensen Interceptor Remix)
02 – Stomp (Funk D’Void Remix)
03 – Money Trouble Funk (Bambounou Remix)
04 – Astral Projection (Destructo Remix – Boys Noize Edit)
05 – Astral Projection (KiNK Dub)
06 – All The Time (Gingy Remix)
07 – Music For The Ringtone Generation (Lorenz Rhode Remix)
08 – Hood (Broke One Remix)
09 – One Thing feat. Robert Owens (Jimmy Edgar Remix)
10 – One Thing feat. Robert Owens (Djedjotronic Remix)
11 – Don’t Know When (Renaissance Man Remix)
12 – Mega (Marble Players Remix)
13 – Metal Slug (Audionite Remix)
14 – Radiocheck (The Glimmers Remix)
15 – Skate Control (Glass Figure Remix)

It’s a real joyride in a demanding roller coaster: the remix meeting of tracks orginally produced by Frenchman Théo Pozoga aka Strip Steve. All tunes are taken from his debut longplayer „Micro Mega“ with whom the boy from Bordeaux that lives in Berlin delivered a one-off-kind record: furios, nimbly, deep, and euphoric. There is house on it as well as dark bass- and synth-heavy disco moments. Almost all his tracks aim the dancefloor for a target without a confession to a unique style.

All it counts in his sense of groove is the funk. Just like now on his 13 pieces strong remix collection on which highly rated producers proof with passionate re-interpretations that they really felt his longplayer deeply. Stylistically again you get it all: techno bombs, house deepness, a breeze of disco, synth madness, and pop all over the place. Jimmy Edgar transformed the formaly Chicago house reminiscence „One Thing“ featuring Robert Owens on the mic into a cool electro seducer that got all what it takes to be a hit. The Glimmers magic up „Radiocheck“ into a trippy gem that got a few disco genes as well as much marching techno DNA. And there is Gingy with his version of „All The Time“ – a track that is begging for a big sound system to inject a dose of pure dry house energy into all those dancers lonely hearts. Also Sound Pellegrino and 50 Weapons artist Bambounou longs for the dancefloor with a haunting remix of „Money Trouble Funk“ that strips the orginal down to it’s bones to rebirth it as a magical minimal off-rhythm track. Boysnoize Label head honcho Boys Noize also created. His „Destructo“ Remix of „Astral Projection“ dissassemble any club while seeding some pop emotions with the perfectly timed use of the vocals by the Los Angeles based dream pop beauties Puro Instinct. More stompers who come around to stay are done by Bulgaria’s house fine mechanic Kink, German synth-funk madmen Lorenz Rhode, Glasgows techno veteran Funk D’Void, or the Finish/German duo Renaissance Man.

All of them are unique and all of them radiate a deep love for the original that wasn’t born by a paycheck. A rare quality for a remix album that sounds like a completely new one. We are sure that you will find your favorite remixers in there but make sure to check them all out, as you might be surprised by what they have delivered.


Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>